Who is on your Council??


Social Studies Council



Council Executive

President
John Tidswell
Phone (bus): 780-435-6997 
john.tidswell@ecsd.net
Secretary
Sharon Richter
richters@shaw.ca
 
Treasurer
Gary Hansen
Phone (bus): 780-986-1745 
Fax: 780-387-4713
gbhansen@telus.net
Editor, Focus
David Scott
scottd@ucalgary.ca
 
Editor, One World in Dialogue
Craig Harding
Phone (bus): 403-777-7870 
Fax: 403-777-7872
jcharding@cbe.ab.ca
ATA Staff Advisor
Dave Matson
Phone (bus): 780-447-9400 OR 1-800-232-7208 
Fax: 780-455-6481
david.matson@ata.ab.ca
 
PEC Liaison
Elaine Willette-Larsen
Phone (bus): 780-753-6838 
Fax: 780-455-6481
elaine.willette@ata.ab.ca


FULL BOARD:

The Full Board comprises of Council Executive (see above) as well as:
Past President: vacant

President-Elect: vacant

Calgary Regional President: Jen Williams: jenwilliamsata@gmail.com

Red Deer Regional President: Suzanne Williamson: suzanne.williamson@wolfcreek.ab.ca

Southern Regional President: Matt Strikwerda: Matt.Strikwerda@lethsd.ab.ca

Northern Regional President: Andrea Willman: andrea_colleen@hotmail.com

Edmonton Regional President: Rachel MacLeod: Rachel.MacLeod@ecsd.net

Alberta Education Rep: Nathalie Langstaedtler: nathalie.langstaedtler@gov.ab.ca

University Liaison: Carla Peck: carla.peck@ualberta.ca

Web/Communications Manager: Bryan Burley: atasocialstudies@gmail.com

Executive Committee Information:
(Note: Our full constitution can be also found in the "Who We Are" dropdown menu)
Elections for our executive committee are held at our annual general meeting (AGM). If you are interested in serving, contact us for more details. 
The officers of the council executive committee shall consist of a president, a president-elect, a secretary and a treasurer, elected for one-year terms. The executive committee shall also include the past-president and an ATA staff officer as voting members. The conference director and the PEC liaison member, while members of the executive committee, shall not be voting members of the executive committee.

Council Board Information:
The council board shall consist of all members of the executive committee plus all regional presidents and regional contact members. These members, with the exception of the conference director, the PEC liaison member and the regional contact members, shall be voting members of the council board. The council board shall also consist of the editor of Focus, the editor of One World, the manager of the website, one representative from le Conseil français, one representative from Alberta Education, one representative from the Alberta universities and the chairs of ad hoc committees. This latter group shall be nonvoting members of the council board. In the instance that a regional president cannot attend a council board meeting, that regional may send, at provincial council expense, an alternate regional executive member who may vote.