Who is on your Council?? 


Social Studies Council



Council Executive

President
Jennifer Williams
Phone (bus): 403-980-5563 
ATASSCpresident@gmail.com
Secretary
Lorne Maier
Phone (bus): 780-581-0062 
Fax: 780-853-2920
atasscsecretary@gmail.com
 
Treasurer
Gary Hansen
Phone (bus): 780-986-1745 
Fax: 780-387-4713
gbhansen@telus.net
ATA Staff Advisor
Dave Matson
Phone (bus): 780-447-9400 OR 1-800-232-7208 
Fax: 780-455-6481
david.matson@ata.ab.ca
 
PEC Liaison
Brenton Baum
Phone (bus): 780-542-2509 
Fax: 780-542-6238
brenton.baum@ata.ab.ca


Executive Committee:

The Executive Committee comprises of Council Table Officers (see above) as well as:
Past President: John Tidswell: tidswellj@gmail.com

President-Elect: Vacant (filled 2019-2020 school year)

Calgary Regional President: Sana Waseem: swaseem.edu@gmail.com 

Red Deer Regional President: Laura McDonald: mcdonaldlaura01@hotmail.com

Southern Regional President: Shelley Kirkvold: kirkvoldshelley88@gmail.com

Northern Regional President: Nik Sellwood: nik.sellwood@yahoo.ca

Edmonton Regional President: Marlon Kaup: marlon.kaup21@gmail.com

Alberta Education Rep: Nathalie Langstaedtler: nathalie.langstaedtler@gov.ab.ca

University Liaison: Carla Peck: carla.peck@ualberta.ca

One World In Dialogue Editor: Craig Harding: JCHarding@cbe.ab.ca

Focus Newsletter Editor: Sana Waseem: swaseem.edu@gmail.com

Web/Communications Manager: Bryan Burley: atasocialstudies@gmail.com

 

Table Officers Committee Information:
(Note: Our full constitution can be also found in the "Who We Are" drop-down menu)
Elections for our table officer positions are held at our annual general meeting (AGM) in accordance to our constitution. If you are interested in serving, contact us for more details. 
The table officers of the Council Executive Committee shall consist of a president, president-elect, secretary, treasurer, past-president, a PEC liaison member to be appointed by the Provincial Executive Council of the Alberta Teachers’ Association, and an ATA Staff officer appointed by the executive secretary of the Alberta Teachers’ Association.
Council Executive Committee Information:
The executive committee shall consist of members of the table officers, the regional presidents (or designates), the editor of Focus, the editor of One World in Dialogue, the communications manager, one representative from Alberta Education, one representative from Alberta’s universities, the conference director, and the chairs of ad hoc committees.

Members of the executive committee who have voting rights are: the table officers, the regional presidents (or designates), the editor of Focus, the editor of One World, the communications manager, and the conference director.